This website requires JavaScript, please enable javascript or update your browser.

Listen: Amirtha Kidambi's Elder Ones announce album New Monuments

15 Jan 2024

Amirtha Kidambi’s Elder Ones, consisting of bassist Eva Lawitts, saxophonist Matt Nelson, cellist Lester St. Louis and drummer Jason Nazary,  announce their third LP New Monuments, set to be released on March 15th via We Jazz Records. 

The subversive spirit and sense of collectiveness cultivated during mass demonstrations across New York City in the wake of the tragic murder of George Floyd serves as the driving force behind New Monuments. Kidambi describes the title as a metaphor for tearing down old colonial monuments representing the oppressing power toward marginalized groups, paving the way for the rebuilding of new symbols. 

The release of "Third Space", the inaugural track from the album, is a powerful musical testament to the intricacies of the Asian experience in the United States during moments of heightened tensions. In a bold fusion of experimental music and social activism, "Third Space" explores the collision of colonial power and native culture. It stands as a compelling call for solidarity.

Pre-order New Monuments via Bandcamp:

Watch the video teaser for "Third Space":

Watch "Elder Ones "Third Space" Out Now Teaser" by "Amirtha Kidambi" on

Amirtha Kidambi's Elder Ones performs live at Rewire 2024 on Friday 5 April

Photo by Chris Weiss