This website requires JavaScript, please enable javascript or update your browser.

Rewire 2023

Multiple venues, The Hague

6—9 April 2023

In 2023 Rewire returns to The Hague once again for its twelfth edition. Rewire 2023 takes place from 6-9 April across a number of different venues in The Hague, bringing together a wide range of musical and interdisciplinary performances, specially commissioned works, club nights, installations, talks, screenings, and more.

3-Day passes and Day passes are now available to purchase. A Plus Ticket is required for Soundwalk Collective & Patti Smith.

On Thursday 6 April the festival will be preceded by a freely accessible opening night of talks, listening sessions and film screenings introducing the thematics of the Rewire 2023 context programme. More info on this page. Find the full line-up below.


Complete Rewire 2023 programme per day:

Thursday 6 April

Rewire 2023 opening programme:

Rewire Reflections – Writing about Listening – Conversation
CASS concert – Performances and installations by students from Composition, ArtScience & Sonology at the University of the Arts The Hague – Music
Inter/relations – with Heloisa Amaral, Budhaditya Chattopadhyay, Carla Maier, and Mark Peter Wright – Conversation
The Soundscape Speaks – by Hildegard Westerkamp (audio contribution) – Listening session 
Sonus and Sonic Entanglements – with meLê yamomo – Conversation 
Visceral Acts (of environmental listening)  – with Vivian Caccuri, Matteo Marangoni, Vica Pacheco, and Naomi Rincón Gallardo – Conversation
TIMEZONES: Staying Creative Between Beauty and Chaos in Rio de Janeiro – with Vivian Caccuri and Hannes Liechti – Listening session 
TIMEZONES: Ears on/of Makiling – with Hannes Liechti and meLê yamomo – Listening session 
Radio WORM x Rewire – Interviews, reports, and live streaming at The Grey Space in The Middle

Friday 7 April


Aura Satz, Rhodri Davies & Julia Eckhardt
‘Occam Delta XX’ - world premiere
Binkbeats ‘OHM’
Bitter Babe b2b Manuka Honey
Coby Sey
CS + Kreme
Dylan Henner
Ellen Arkbro & Johan Graden
Ellen Fullman & The Living Earth Show
‘Elemental View’
Fever Ray
Lucy Gooch
Lucy Liyou
Maoupa Mazzocchetti with Luna Maria Cedrón & Samir Aouad
‘The Heels of Joy’ - world premiere
Martha Skye Murphy
Mathilde Nobel
Matthew Herbert & Julian Sartorius
- world premiere
Oscar Peters ‘Echos’ - world premiere
Peter Zummo & KAKUHAN - world premiere
Rainy Miller
Safety Trance
Zoë Mc Pherson & Alessandra Leone
‘Pitch Blender’

Tuning In – by Liew Niyomkarn – Listening session 
Poetics of Listening – with Brandon LaBelle – Listening session
Instrumental Ecologies – with Mark Peter Wright, Matthew Biederman & Pierce Warnecke, Carla Maier, and Liew Niyomkarn – Conversation
TIMEZONES  – Listening station at Page Not Found
Sounding with the Serge Modular – workshop by Thomas Ankersmit
Radio WORM x Rewire – Interviews, reports, and live streaming at The Grey Space in The Middle


Handsworth Songs (Black Audio Film Collective)
When There Is No More Music to Write, and Other Roman Stories (Eric Baudelaire)
Anyox (Jessica Johnson & Ryan Ermacora)


Saturday 8 April


33 (Billy Bultheel & Alexander Iezzi)
Aleksandra Słyz
‘A Vibrant Touch’
Alto Arc - world premiere
Amnesia Scanner & Freeka Tet ‘’
Authentically Plastic
Dale Cornish
Daniel Blumberg
Deena Abdelwahed
Elvin Brandhi
Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Hatis Noit
(live A/V) - world premiere
Hiro Kone
Horse Lords
Infinity Knives & Brian Ennals
Julia Reidy
Liew Niyomkarn
Lucinda Chua
Morita Vargas
Nadah El Shazly & Elvin Brandhi
Nwando Ebizie
‘The Swan’
Oscar Peters ‘Echos’ - world premiere
Paul Purgas
‘Tape Music’
Rewire x Carhartt WIP instore 
Slikback x Weirdcore
Soft Break
The Dwarfs of East Agouza
The Paper Ensemble & Ale Hop
‘#17’ - world premiere
The Social Lover
Thomas Ankersmit
TLF Trio



Veering Voices – with Lucy Liyou, Hatis Noit, and Pamela Z – Conversation 
Poetics of Listening – with Brandon LaBelle – Listening session
Elements of Sounding – with Ellen Fullman and Pak Yan Lau – Conversation
Times and Territories – with Budhaditya Chattopadhyay, Afrorack, Maria Chávez, Paul Purgas, Joe Rainey, Stas Sharifullin, and more – Conversation
Expanding Turntablism – with Maria Chávez, Mariam Rezaei, Victoria Shen – Conversation 
TIMEZONES  – Listening station at Page Not Found
Radio WORM x Rewire – Interviews, reports and live streaming at The Grey Space in The Middle


Twilight City (Black Audio Film Collective)
Who Needs A Heart (Black Audio Film Collective)
Atlantic Ragagar (Gilles Aubry)
Last Things (Deborah Stratman)

Beyond forgotten sounds by Margherita Brillada

by Musikarbeiter 


Sunday 9 April


Ana Roxanne
Church Andrews & Matt Davies
Ghosted (Oren Ambarchi / Johan Berthling / Andreas Werliin)
Grand River
‘All Above’
Joe Rainey & String Quartet
Leslee Smucker
‘Worlds Within’ - world premiere
M. Takara & Carla Boregas
Maria Chavez + Mariam Rezaei + Victoria Shen
- world premiere
No Plexus - world premiere
Okkyung Lee's Yeo-Neun Quartet
Pak Yan Lau
Pamela Z ‘A Secret Code’
Patrick Belaga, Asma Maroof & Tapiwa Svosve ‘The Sport of Love’
Pavel Milyakov & Perila - world premiere
Pierce Warnecke & Matthew Biederman ‘Spillover’
Soundwalk Collective & Patti Smith ‘Correspondences’ - world premiere
Steve Gunn & David Moore
Tatiana Koleva & Zhivko Vasilev
- world premiere
Tim Hecker & Vincent de Belleval
- world premiere
upsammy & Jonathan Castro ‘Germ in a Population of Buildings’ - world premiere
Waclaw Zimpel & Ben Kreukniet - world premiere
Zoh Amba with Johan Berthling & Frank Rosaly 


Musicking Resistance – with Giada Dalla Bontà, Andrius Arutiunian, and more
Sampling Stories  – with Hannes Liechti, ABADIR and more artists tbc – Conversation
A conversation with Patti Smith & Soundwalk Collective  
Ritual Time
– with Nwando Ebizie – Listening session
TIMEZONES – Listening station at Page Not Found
RA Exchange – with Tzusing
Radio WORM x Rewire – Interviews, reports, and live streaming at The Grey Space in The Middle


The Last Angel of History (Black Audio Film Collective)
O Gemer (Xabier Erkizia)

Beyond forgotten sounds by Margherita Brillada

All days (7–9 April)

Proximity Music: Visceral Acts
Aernoudt Jacobs ‘Glass Vibration Gaze’
Amos Peled ‘Phantom Limb’ - world premiere
Dominik 't Jolle & Maria Komarova ‘Tinnere. Behind the Tune’
Jeroen Alexander Meijer ‘Ouroboros’
Karel van Laere ‘Reach’
Matteo Marangoni & Dieter Vandoren ‘Komorebi’
Naama Tsabar ‘Untitled (Without) variation 1 & Ruptures (Opus 1)’
Naomi Rincon Gallardo ‘Sonnet of Vermin & The Vermin’s Radio’
Vica Pacheco ‘Mitote & Ollin’ - world premiere
Vivian Caccuri & Thiago Lanis ‘Fantasma Boca (Mouth Ghost)’ - world premiere